Demand Justice for Your Losses Small Firm Feel | Big Firm Results

What Are Louisiana’s Texting and Driving Laws?

Texting and driving is an incredibly dangerous form of distracted driving due to the fact that it distracts drivers in three primary ways – cognitively, visually, and manually. Cell phones are quite ubiquitous these days and, as such, it was necessary for the law to catch up with society’s desire to remain connected at all times. As such, every state has its own laws regarding cell phone use and driving, so it is important to be familiar with the laws that govern your state.

Louisiana and its Restrictions

To combat distracted driving, Louisiana put laws in place that prohibit drivers from using wireless devices in order to:

  • Compose, send, or read text messages, emails, or other text-based forms of communication.
  • Engage in social media, including reading or posting.
  • Speaking on the phone while in a school zone during school hours.

Every rule has its exceptions. In Louisiana, drivers are permitted to use a wireless communication device if it is being used by emergency personnel while performing official duties. Drivers are also permitted to use wireless devices for navigational purposes or to report an emergency or criminal activity.

If you violate these laws, a first offense can cost up to $500 in fines. Subsequent violations can result in license suspension and up to $1,000 in fines.

Restrictions for Underage Drivers and Drivers with Learner’s or Intermediate Licenses

Drivers who are under the age of 18 are prohibited from texting or speaking on a cell phone while driving. The only exception to this rule is to report an emergency or criminal activity. Underage teen drivers who violate this law will have to pay a maximum fine of $250. Additional violations will result in a 60-day license suspension and a fine of up to $500. If the violation involved an accident, the fines will double.

Drivers who have a class E learner’s permit or an intermediate license cannot use a cell phone while driving unless it is a hands-free device. Again, the drivers can use a cell phone to report emergencies or criminal activity.

Reach Out to a Bossier City Car Accident Attorney for the Help You Need

Distracted drivers are dangerous and negligent. If you were injured in an accident caused by someone who was texting at the time, you need to obtain skilled legal counsel as soon as possible to fight for the fair and just compensation you deserve. At Joseph A. Gregorio, A Professional Law Firm in Bossier City, our knowledgeable car accident attorney has over 20 years of experience fighting on behalf victims of car accidents and is prepared to do the same for you.

Take the first step toward securing the compensation you need and call us today at (318) 719-7515 to schedule a complimentary case review.

Categories: